About Us

About Zonta

The Zonta Club of Annapolis (ZCOA) is a member club of Zonta International (ZI). Our club was “chartered” on February 16, 1929 as the 58th club of ZI. The 16 charter members included Anne Dorsey, Lula Ebaugh, Jane Fowler, Louise Linthicum, Lillian Musterman, Ellen Newton, Matilda Ramsey, Jennie Richardson, Josephine Riordan, Mary Shearn, Frances Weitzman, Lucy Wheatley, Pearl Winslow, Hedwig Frances, Helen Wright, and Anne Nickerson. The Zonta Club of Annapolis Foundation, Inc. is the charitable arm of the ZCOA. The ZCOA Foundation, Inc is Internal Revenue Code 501(c)(3) organization and donations to it are tax deductible as allowed by law.

ZI was founded in 1919 in Buffalo, NY. From the initial nine clubs (from New York State, Binghamton, Buffalo, Elmira, Ithaca, Rochester, Syracuse, and Utica; from Michigan, Detroit; and from Pennsylvania, Erie) ZI has grown into a global organization of more than 27,000 individuals in 1,133 Zonta clubs in 62 countries. ZI’s administrative office and professional staff are headquartered in Oakbrook, Illinois, USA.

The mission of ZI and its member clubs it to empower women worldwide through service and advocacy. ZI programs reach women and girls throughout the world. The funding of these programs relies on the financial support from clubs, ZI members, and other generous contributors. Club’s target their activities to best meet the needs of their local communities.

Zonta Club of Annapolis Leadership for the 2022-2024 Biennium

President: Linda Tavener

Vice President: Joanne Gallos

Secretary: Barbara Taylor

Treasurer: Mary-Helen Risler

Foundation Treasurer: Jane Eubanks

Directors: Vivian Gist Spencer, Lorraine Chase

Contact Information: Email president@zontaclubannapolis.org